Ramesh Johari : POMI 2020 Workshop


Wednesday, April 13, 2011
Location: Fisher Conference Center, Arrillaga Alumni Center

"Load Balancing and Traffic Engineering: Constructive Interference
4:15pm - 4:45pm


Most modern medium to large-scale Internet services load-balance requests across a network of multiple geographically distributed servers in order to minimize response time for their clients. While load-balancers can pick a server, they are not free to choose a good path to the server, placing them at the mercy of the network to choose the path for them. Common sense suggests that an ``ideal'' load-balancer -- that picks the (server, path) pair -- will perform much better. We explore how much better the ideal load-balancer would be. Our investigation reveals that although the load-balancer and network have different goals, their interaction surprisingly leads the system towards an equilibrium that is close to optimal.

Joint work with Nick McKeown and Nikhil Handigol.


Ramesh Johari is an Assistant Professor at Stanford University, with a full-time appointment in the Department of Management Science and Engineering (MS&E), and courtesy appointments in the Departments of Computer Science (CS) and Electrical Engineering (EE). He is a member of the Operations Research group in MS&E, and the Information Systems Laboratory in EE. He received an A.B. in Mathematics from Harvard (1998), a Certificate of Advanced Study in Mathematics from Cambridge (1999), and a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from MIT (2004).

He is the recipient of a British Marshall Scholarship (1998), First Place in the INFORMS George E. Nicholson Student Paper Competition (2003), the George M. Sprowls Award for the best doctoral thesis in computer science at MIT (2004), Honorable Mention for the ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award (2004), the Okawa Foundation Research Grant (2005), the MS&E Graduate Teaching Award (2005, 2010), the INFORMS Telecommunications Section Doctoral Dissertation Award (2006), and the NSF CAREER Award (2007). He has served on the program committees of ACM Electronic Commerce (2007, 2009-2011), ACM SIGCOMM (2006, 2011), IEEE Infocom (2007-2011), and ACM SIGMETRICS (2008-2009)